first things first.

Welcome!

Well it seems I have just joined the not so exclusive group of people know as blogger’s. My reasons for starting this blog is to both help my self and others in following my progress as I begin a new project.

That project is to design and build a bike light system 100% tailored to the needs of recumbent trike riders.

They are a rare breed recumbent trike riders, with the majority of people not knowing what one is.

gt3_1

A Greenspeed GT3 Trike

The light system that I am looking to design is aimed at trikes that have a front derailleur and vertical handle bars.  The image above is one of greenspeeds GT3 series trikes. The trike that I will be using has this same frame but with a slightly different steering setup.

So far the following features are a must for the light system:

  • Durable and water tight
  • Two hour run time minimum
  • A good spread of light, both close and far.
  • Ability to adjust brightness/on-off  while riding.

This list will no doubt grow enormously as I progress. Lastly, I intend to use high power led’s and safe to handle NiMh batteries.

More to come very soon.

About Richard

I am a PhD candidate in Materials Engineering located in Melbourne, Australia.
This entry was posted in Trike Lights. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

