Handle bar mounted recumbent lights.

I may have solved my problem of how to mount the handlebar lights to the recumbent. I have found a commercial bike bike mount that I should be able to adapt for this project. Its durable enough according to some reviews, has a quick release and the price is about right.

Universal Bike Mount

Universal Bike Mount

However being ordered just today it wont arrive for another few weeks. Not wanting to wait for so long to finish this project I have come up with my own solution. It does the job but doesn’t look anywhere near as professional as I would prefer.

Handlebar Lights

Trike handlebar lights with mount.

Large image available if you click above.

The left hand side of the image is the assembled end product of the right hand side. The Optics and LED insert into the black anodized Aluminium tube. Once there the heatsink then bolts on through. I made a few mistakes on as I went along, notably cutting the square tubing in the wrong spot.

Although it might not be as pretty as I had hoped it works better than expect and is quite durable. Not having finished the front “wide beam” set of lights yet i’m going to test what I have so far on my mountain bike tonight.

About Richard

I am a Materials Engineering working in the field of Magnetic Materials in Melbourne, Australia. This blog covers my personal interest in all things CNC.
This entry was posted in Trike Lights and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Handle bar mounted recumbent lights.

  1. Kurt says:

    Where did you order this? Would it fit a hand crank LED light that is about 2 x 2.5 x 5.5-inches H x W x D?

  2. Richard says:

    Hi Kurt

    Sorry for the delayed reply. I have not had real access to a PC for a couple of weeks.

    I ordered the part from dealextreme.com. The part is sku:21314.

    They have quite a few different bike mounts on there ranging from $2 to $5 USD. Shipping with this site is free but takes upwards of two weeks so make sure you read the reviews and choose carefully first!

Leave a Reply

