Start of the build.

So far the only parts I have put together for my Reprap is what I already had around the house. After disassembling two old printers and a scanner I managed to gain some useful stainless steel shafts, stepper motors, brushed DC motors and plastic toothed gears.

Stepper Motors and brushed DC motors.

The stepper in the top left appears to be one of these. The larger DC motor in the top right is an RS-455PA which is rated for 8W at peak efficiency.

Stainless steel shafts and plastic toothed wheels

These will be great for future projects such as playing with conveyor belts or a milk bottle shredder, but they are not much use for a Mendel due to their varied sizes and lengths.

I also have a few left over pc PSU’s that can be used for the Mendel. They are 400 and 350Watt rated, or 33A and 29A at 12V respectively. This should be more than enough to run a mendel and a heaterbed.

PC PSU's

Thankfully, through years of hoarding so called ‘junk’ I have plenty of other parts that should come in useful for the build.

A collection of parts.

Work Station.

I have never worked with surface mounted components before so that will be a new challenge. However other than that, most of the problems that may come up with the physical construction should be familiar.

Working with the firmware, reprap software and gcode is a different story. I have never done anything like that before and so there is plenty more reading to be done.

I’m playing with google’s sketchup at the moment so a little on that next time.

About Richard

I am a Materials Engineering working in the field of Magnetic Materials in Melbourne, Australia. This blog covers my personal interest in all things CNC.
This entry was posted in Mendel Build and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Start of the build.

  1. Renoir says:

    I was also a bit cautious about surface mount – but now it’s my favourite way of building. It’s a little more fiddly to start with, but I prefer it now. Even using a ‘traditional’ soldering iron, you can solder pretty small surface mount parts reasonably quickly and efficiently, and doing a whole board at once is just cool 🙂

    How come we all end up with similar piles of ‘useful’ things? I’m sure that I have piles of stuff in my garage that looks a lot like your workshop….

    • Richard says:

      I get the feeling I will also be converted by the benefits of surface mounted components. I already have an old hotplate, I just need some solder paste.

      Does anyone know how important the quality of solder paste is?

      I have plenty of old unopened syringes around (my mother is a nurse) so I’m considering the cheap option and getting a pot of paste from DX.

      http://www.dealextreme.com/details.dx/sku.4711

Leave a Reply

